Getting Oriented

Gamarjoba readers!

I finally have a semi functional knowledge of Georgian language, since we’ve been spending about 4 hours a day learning how to navigate the throaty “k” sounds, the difference between an aspirated and non-aspirated consonant, and the question intonation. I have to say, I feel pretty good about what I’ve learned so far, and I am going to make an honest effort to get better on my own time.

I even bought a book.

Orientation is coming to an end, and I have mixed feelings about it. Because I arrived in one of the last groups to Tbilisi, I feel like I really missed out on free time. I managed two excursions out of the hotel in 6 days (more on those in my next post), mostly because we had such a packed schedule between Georgian, intercultural training, teaching methodologies, and various legal, academic, and non academic presentations. I have no doubt that all of the information is invaluable, but I would have liked a bit more time in the city. The upside is, the entire country is like 250 miles across from the Black Sea to the Azerbaijani border, so chances are I will be back in Tbilisi before my time here is done.

Goodbye oddly dark hotel that can’t decide if it wants to be modern or classic!

Now for some really exciting news:

I know where I’ll be living for the next 9 months!

Right… About… There!

I am pretty happy with what little information I have right now!
Here are the facts:

  • I will be in the Guria region, in the Chokhatauri district, in a village called Gut’uri.
  • There is no information about Gut’uri on Google.
  • I will teach at Gut’uri public school.
  • My host family includes a host mother, a host father, an adult host brother, a 16 year old host sister, and a host grandmother.
  • They live in a private house.
  • My toilet and shower are indoor.
  • There is no internet at the house (which means I will need to buy a modem).

I get to meet my family tomorrow and drive the length of Georgia with them to my home. I am really excited to see what my village has to offer. The district is home to the Nabeglavi mineral springs, which produce one of two popular mineral water’s in Georgia. Also, Google Earth has showed me only that it is on a river, at a mild elevation, is roughly 10 miles from the nearest city (Ozurgeti) and 30 miles from the Black Sea.

I see river. I see mountains. I see beautiful.

I originally went into this program thinking I wanted to be in a city, but orientation has showed me that village life is really worth the lack of amenities because of the relationships you build with your family and neighbors. It may take me a few days to get my internet set up, so please be patient in waiting for my next post!

Things to look forward to:
– My first impressions of Tbilisi – A series of fun facts learned at orientation – My first days with my family, in my school, and in my village – More on Georgian language –

Mshvidobit!

-Kacie Riann

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Loni Rahm

     /  October 10, 2012

    It’s always good for a mom to know where her chickies are gonna roost! Can’t wait to hear more! Love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 835 other followers

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

