Bed: The Final Destination

Hello Readers!

Welcome to Georgia, one free bottle of wine for every stamped passport

It turns out, my hotel in Tbilisi has Wifi, which is a great relief because now I can post pictures/blogs and not get too far behind.Also,  the Internet is the perfect activity to keep me awake a bit longer to adjust to the timezone, without requiring a lot of brainpower.

I am EXHAUSTED. The fact that I am a functional human being, and in addition, capable of writing a blog right now, is nothing short of a miracle. In the last 48 hours, I have slept for roughly 10. I flew for 17 of those hours, spent 18  in airports (with a brief visit into Warsaw), and the other 14 has been a flurry of checking into the hotel, sleeping for a bit, then jumping right into orientation.

This clock in Warsaw was a constant reminder of how long it would be until I would sleep again.

I have to admit that I haven’t gotten much of a chance to explore Tbilisi yet. I arrived at my hotel at 5:40 AM, and after having troubles with my room key didn’t get to sleep until 7:00. I slept until about 12:30, and spent lunch, our 3 hour orientation session, and dinner nodding off. I am nearing 10:00 P.M. local time, which was my goal for staying awake, so I am hoping that tomorrow I will be almost entirely adjusted. I have a full day of orientation, but there should be time in the evening for wandering the city.

If I can find the time between my medical check, orientation session, and meals…

I am excited to continue meeting people, which is crazier than I expected. My volunteer group has 109 people, a TLG record high, so  I am incredibly thankful for the name tags. I am also excited for the training and eventually finding out where I will be living and who my host family is.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

For now, I plan to spend 10 hours here

I will try to post pretty frequently since my internet situation is unknown after orientations, until then, good night readers!

-Kacie Riann

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 835 other followers

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

